Board index Games... Mods... Multiplayer! Deus Ex ]

Running DX on Single Core CPU - Fixing Firerate and Warping


Author
Message
Sike
THIS IS SPARTAAA!!!
THIS IS SPARTAAA!!!

Posts: 336
Joined:
 28 Jul 2006, 02:11
Location:
 Finland
Nationality:
Finland


Running DX on Single Core CPU - Fixing Firerate and Warping - Postby Sike » 07 Mar 2009, 21:46


I've seen people who have dualcore processors warping around servers and firing their guns much faster than they should. Well here's my simple guide on how to fix this...

Go to your DeusEx/System folder and open up a file called DeusEx.ini

If you are using D3D rendering in-game, just hit Ctrl + F and type in [D3D8Drv.D3D8RenderDevice] and find a line that says FrameRateLimit.

See picture for further instructions...

Image

Or if you are using OpenGL rendering in-game, just hit Ctrl + F and type in [OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice] and find a line that says FrameRateLimit.

See picture for further instructions...

Image

The last thing you have to do is save and exit the DeusEx.ini file. Now all the warping and other lagging problems should be gone.

Happy fragging!

~ [


Valgothy wrote:Oh and for your info, ATDM is a modded gametype as well.

BTDM is the real DX.
Sike
THIS IS SPARTAAA!!!
THIS IS SPARTAAA!!!

Posts: 336
Joined:
 28 Jul 2006, 02:11
Location:
 Finland
Nationality:
Finland


- Postby Sike » 07 Mar 2009, 21:46


The fucks the problem? tags don't work :x


Valgothy wrote:Oh and for your info, ATDM is a modded gametype as well.

BTDM is the real DX.
~DJ~
Teh 1337'
Teh 1337'
User avatar

Posts: 2559
Joined:
 29 Jun 2008, 13:18


- Postby ~DJ~ » 07 Mar 2009, 22:56


Maybe your BBCODE is OFF..

Try going to PROFILE> Set BBCODE to ON.

Image


That Resident Evil Mod
————
~][FGS][Nobody~ wrote:DONT SEARCH WORDS ON GOOGLE WITHOUT TINKING

~[FGS]SaSQuATcH~ wrote:you+serious=error

chin.democ. wrote:It's just what you're doing with your right hand that worries me....
Skilgannon
Cherub/7H
Cherub/7H

Posts: 1181
Joined:
 18 Jul 2008, 13:27
Location:
 The First Dominion of the Unbeheld


- Postby Skilgannon » 07 Mar 2009, 23:21


It happens to members who get banned, the ban turns off BBCODE temorarily. Somethign for the admins to look into maybe?


* Since when were you the one in control?
chin.democ.
chinny!
chinny!
User avatar

Posts: 2715
Joined:
 10 Aug 2006, 17:19
Location:
 London
Nationality:
Great Britain


- Postby chin.democ. » 08 Mar 2009, 00:31


Frameratelimit is not in my Deus Ex ini. perhaps I should add that line?


Skilgannon
Cherub/7H
Cherub/7H

Posts: 1181
Joined:
 18 Jul 2008, 13:27
Location:
 The First Dominion of the Unbeheld


- Postby Skilgannon » 08 Mar 2009, 04:43


OMG! CHIN! YOU HAVE 666 POSTS!! Better watch yourself. :) I wouldn't mess with the ini by adding lines tbh, DX is an unstable beast at the best of times. Unless ofc, you back it up first. :-D


* Since when were you the one in control?
~[FGS]SaSQuATcH~


Posts: 3128
Joined:
 04 Jun 2008, 12:21


- Postby ~[FGS]SaSQuATcH~ » 08 Mar 2009, 13:16


I don't have that line either, in additon: I'm missing plenty of those lines you have Sike :shock:


Kothar
The Warbeast
The Warbeast
User avatar

Posts: 1078
Joined:
 21 Feb 2006, 21:19
Location:
 The Depths of Hell


- Postby Kothar » 08 Mar 2009, 15:22


do quad core processors have the same problem? because for some reason I haven't noticed movement that was any faster. if anything it seems kinda slower and less responsive.


"Without deviation progress is not possible"

~][FGS][Nobody~ wrote:Y U GUIZ ALWAYYS KILL TEH HOOKERS IN MY BASE???!!
Sike
THIS IS SPARTAAA!!!
THIS IS SPARTAAA!!!

Posts: 336
Joined:
 28 Jul 2006, 02:11
Location:
 Finland
Nationality:
Finland


- Postby Sike » 08 Mar 2009, 16:06


~SaSQuAtCH~ wrote:I don't have that line either, in additon: I'm missing plenty of those lines you have Sike :shock:


Download the latest version of your render.


Valgothy wrote:Oh and for your info, ATDM is a modded gametype as well.

BTDM is the real DX.
SPAZ ROFELZ
MOMOMONSTERSPAM
MOMOMONSTERSPAM
User avatar

Posts: 1323
Joined:
 24 Jun 2008, 16:21
Location:
 Sky


- Postby SPAZ ROFELZ » 08 Mar 2009, 21:48


It's all down to fps etc.


Image
[FGS]Hawk
Federvieh
Federvieh
User avatar

Posts: 585
Joined:
 26 Sep 2008, 18:05
Location:
 In the pub
Nationality:
Germany


- Postby [FGS]Hawk » 08 Mar 2009, 23:21


3dfx Glide, ftw!

Btw: Mostly Vista users have timing problems. FPS limiting helps, but even tho there are still timing problems in Vista, which are not caused by the renderer.


"A programmer is a tool which converts caffeine to code." -- Unknown
"Lol, wtf, that sounds like Dragonforce" -- Nobody
"error C2440: '=' : cannot convert from 'float' to 'float'" -- Visual C++ 2008 <-- o.O
"shitham hat echt zu viel metabolic end product im hirn" -- Nobody
"Mein Leben ist scheiße... ach nee, war deins!" -- Serdar Somuncu
~][FGS][Nobody~
Illuminated
Illuminated
User avatar

Posts: 4940
Joined:
 26 Oct 2005, 16:59
Location:
 Schland!
Nationality:
Germany


- Postby ~][FGS][Nobody~ » 09 Mar 2009, 23:46


Timing problem just occurs, if the processor has something like cool'n quiet or speedstep technology enabled.

In other words. If you start DX and it records the CPU's clock speed, it's still down clocked. Then the game is loaded, the CPU goes to normal clock speed and the game is too fast.


Nobody is perfect...
-----------------------
ô¿ô¥[GODZ]¥NOCHANC wrote:I can ban any one I want ANY time I want. You have no rights here.

Magus wrote:Maybe one day I will understand your arcane rituals of voting :)

chin.democ. wrote:You can use light bulbs that emit light, and when shot, do not.

synthetic wrote:and while every person is interesting in their own unique ways, there is some degree of uniqueness that a doctor can help with.

~ô¿ô~][FGS][Nobody~ said: THERE IS NO SPOON!
~¤¥ÐJ¥¤~ said: THERE IS NO CAKE!
~DJ~
Teh 1337'
Teh 1337'
User avatar

Posts: 2559
Joined:
 29 Jun 2008, 13:18


- Postby ~DJ~ » 10 Mar 2009, 00:34


Run DX with only 1 processor?

set affinity?


That Resident Evil Mod
————
~][FGS][Nobody~ wrote:DONT SEARCH WORDS ON GOOGLE WITHOUT TINKING

~[FGS]SaSQuATcH~ wrote:you+serious=error

chin.democ. wrote:It's just what you're doing with your right hand that worries me....
Kuchcik
Teh gravn00b
Teh gravn00b
User avatar

Posts: 1866
Joined:
 25 Oct 2006, 20:42
Location:
 Pr0land!


- Postby Kuchcik » 10 Mar 2009, 07:17


~DJ~ wrote:Run DX with only 1 processor?

set affinity?

also, on singleplayer only
slomo 0.9
0.8
keep trying and you might get it to run slower

WOW 800 GET


Disclaimer: All of the opinions and statements in the above post are my private ones, and do not in any way represent the official standing of FGS, unless stated otherwise.
twitter.com/kuchc1k | last.fm/user/kuchc1k
SPAZ ROFELZ
MOMOMONSTERSPAM
MOMOMONSTERSPAM
User avatar

Posts: 1323
Joined:
 24 Jun 2008, 16:21
Location:
 Sky


- Postby SPAZ ROFELZ » 10 Mar 2009, 21:11


9000 get


Image


Return to Deus Ex

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests



cron