Board index Games... Mods... Multiplayer! Deus Ex Questions about DeusEx ]

SDK: UMX Question

Author
It's over 5000!
It's over 5000!

Nationality:
Japan

SDK: UMX Question - Postby ShadowRunner » 12 Mar 2012, 19:43

Danke's DXMS tutorial suggests you need to add slots to your file so that the song isn't cut off.

I think it suggests adding 64 or 100, but what I've noticed, that's more than is necessary for a song of 2-4 minutes.

I'm wondering, does adding slots mean added meggage?

If so, then is there a relationship between slots and time that allows you to look at a song length and know exactly how many slots to add?

If you don't add any slots at all, the umx is extremely short, about less than one minute.

[FGS]Chees
Cherub/7H
Cherub/7H

Nationality:
Great Britain

Re: SDK: UMX Question - Postby [FGS]Chees » 12 Mar 2012, 23:16

I'm no expert obviously!On DX UMX audio anyway. And haven't had time to play about with UMX files and editing them, yet found myself using 200+ slots for a 2 min audio track just so it would cover the length of the track after all done, converted and the rest, all audio files were at about 2/3mb size, and the download time for new players to join Chins server with music on at this size was ridiculously long. I think a good person to ask would be ZXC Karky as he will know about UMX. if not he will point you to a person that does know. Chindemo will no doubt know as well...Chindemo whats your opinion :)

chin.democ.
chinny!
chinny!

Nationality:
Great Britain

Re: SDK: UMX Question - Postby chin.democ. » 12 Mar 2012, 23:31

To be honest Chees I'm not a fan of custom packages I will avoid custom music/textures/sounds as much as possible, I did convert a track to umx some years ago using sound forge but I cannot remember the process, sorry. There must be guides on Alpha's knowledge base somewhere.

[FGS]Chees
Cherub/7H
Cherub/7H

Nationality:
Great Britain

Re: SDK: UMX Question - Postby [FGS]Chees » 12 Mar 2012, 23:43

Np Chin.